Some lessons I do not want to learn

Some lessons I don’t want to learn.  I don’t want to learn what happens when I prioritize a job over my friends and family on a recurring basis.  I don’t want to learn what happens when I think my driving skills are better than they are so I text or read while I’m driving without noticing I’m veering outside my lane.  I don’t want to learn what happens when I undervalue those I work with, and then when I need them, I discover they don’t need me.

Some people are natural test takers.  They thrive at the competition with themselves or others.  It is comforting to know where they stand in relation to others or even their own past.  They are in the minority, however, don’t you think?

The object of tests is to make sure learning is occurring or something has been mastered. It feels good to make an “A”! The grade should reflect real knowledge in a person’s life.

What is real?  God is.  Heaven is. Life past the grave and the certainty of being with those who die as disciples of Jesus Christ are all things that are beyond a doubt—real.  In the spiritual realm, many believe they are “A” students.  Who wants to be tested?

The death of a close family member or friend tests faith.  Intellectual assent to the proposition of eternal life is easier than living out that belief.  Everyone grieves when they experience loss.  The person who believes there is more to life than what we see and an eternal reward greater than our ability to imagine waits after death can echo with certainty and joy the words of Job after learning his business, home and children were destroyed,  “The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away. Blessed be the name of the LORD.”  That is faith.  That is love and trust in the reality of God and the afterlife!

Who wants to learn this lesson?  Who wants to endure the shock, feeling of loss, abandonment, and soul wrenching pain of such a loss?  Nevertheless, to walk through such an experience and emerge on the other side still walking with God certainly would deepen the relationship.

God said through His prophet Ezekiel, “I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak”. These are encouraging words to share with those suffering sinusitis, cancer, or a relationship gone sour.  To be blindsided by being served divorce papers, receiving a pink slip, or waking up in a hospital after stepping on an Improvised Explosive Device (IED) is a harder lesson to learn from Ezekiel than reading his book. How many people stand in line to learn it?

Both companies and private citizens know just how true the phrase is, “the borrower is servant to the lender” and the Proverb “Better a little with righteousness than much gain with injustice.” Walking a company through bankruptcy or home owners through foreclosure has taught lessons many would prefer to still be ignorant about.

Some lessons I just don’t want to learn.  There have been a few lessons I certainly don’t want to cover again.  Deeper down, however, I know the agony of not learning important lessons outweighs the tedium, frustration, and pain of ignoring them.

What is core truth? Where can it be discovered?  Is it something most people have stored in their mind alone, or implemented in their heart and hands also? Is there a lesson(s) that should be added to the DayPlanner–today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

